2022 Lord Mayor's Business Awards launched - Choose Brisbane

2022 Lord Mayor's Business Awards launched


The 2022 Lord Mayor’s Business Awards is now officially open.

Launched at City Hall with Deputy Mayor Councillor Krista Adams, 2021 winner Leap In! Chief Executive Officer Andrew Kiel and awards judge Accenture Australia Managing Director Brock Mahoney speaking about the opportunity the opportunities that the Awards offer.

Deputy Mayor Krista Adams officially launched the Awards at City Hall in front of previous winners, judges and sponsors.

“Our 17th iteration of these awards recognises the wonderful work that our social enterprises, our circular economy, our product innovation, and business innovators are doing right across advanced manufacturing, property, healthcare, logistics, and everything in between,” she said.

Cr Adams spoke about Brisbane’s growing $182 billion economy, set to grow exponentially over the next 10 years towards the green and gold runway.

“We need to ensure that Brisbane is match-fit to be an Olympic city in 2032. It is just as important for our businesses as it is for our sports people.

Previous LMBA winners were represented by Leap In!, a not-for-profit NDIS plan manager who won the 2021 award for Outstanding Social Enterprise.

Leap In! CEO Andrew Kiel said it was a fantastic honour for Leap In! to win as it was their first win after their third application. 

“The Lord Mayor’s Award is probably the most meaningful award win to us because it goes absolutely to the heart of our purpose as a social enterprise, as a charity.”

He advocated to the business leaders in the room about the importance of the NDIS and how employing people with disability is important for inclusion and diversity, particularly as Brisbane is also hosting the 2032 Paralympics.

The second speaker was Brock Mahoney, Managing Director and Queensland State Government Lead at Accenture Australia. Mahoney was a judge in 2021 and Accenture sponsors the Product Innovation award.

“Our association with the product innovation category is core to what we do with our clients and to be associated with the Lord Mayor’s Business Awards and its place in the city means a lot to us. 

“I’m really excited and looking forward to sitting down on the couch and running through all the new applicants that will come through and seeing what surprises come out of this year.”

How to nominate for the Lord Mayor’s Business Awards

The online nomination form for the awards and more information is available at www.lmba.com.au

Nominations close on Friday, 15 July 2022, with winners to be announced at the gala dinner ceremony at City Hall on Friday, 21 October 2022.


Nine categories are open to businesses:

  • Accenture Australia Award for Product Innovation
  • ANZ Award for High-Growth Business
  • Australia Pacific LNG Award for Business Innovation
  • CCIQ Award for Outstanding Small Business
  • HSBC Award for Excellence in International Business
  • Hutchinson Builders Award for Outstanding Social Enterprise
  • ISPT Award for Investment in Brisbane
  • Urban Utilities Award for Environmental Sustainability in Business
  • Xero Award for Outstanding Micro Business

Two categories open to individuals:

  • Port of Brisbane Award for Young Business Person of the Year
  • The Courier-Mail Award for Business Person of the Year

A final category will recognise an outstanding overall winner (not open to nominations):

  • Optus Enterprise Platinum Award

The Lord Mayor’s Business Awards are possible thanks to partners: Accenture Australia, ANZ, Australia Pacific LNG, BDO, Brisbane City Council, Brisbane Economic Development Agency, CCIQ, Channel 7, Epicure, HSBC, Hutchinson Builders, ISPT, Optus, Port of Brisbane Pty Ltd, Sirromet, The Courier-Mail, Urban Utilities and Xero.

Image one: The four speakers at the 2022 Lord Mayor’s Business Awards launch, from left, Brisbane Economic Development Agency’s General Manager of Business Growth, Trade and Talent, Miriam Kent; Leap In! CEO Andrew Kiel; Deputy Mayor Cr Krista Adams and Managing Director and Queensland State Government Lead at Accenture Australia Brock Mahoney.
Image two: Andrew Kiel, Leap In! Chief Executive Officer, speaking at the launch.
Image three: Anne Kovachevich, Australasian Foresight & Innovation Leader Arup; Francesca Webster, Chief Executive Officer, Brazilian Beauty; Melissa Witheriff, Regional Innovation Lead, Avanade.